s there a Michigan Law that says if you are a sub-contractor and you send an invoice, that after 30
Question: Is there a Michigan Law that says if you are a sub-contractor and you send an invoice, that after 30 days and still no payment you can add a 1.5 percent interest charge on the next invoice you send out? If so can you please send me some information on it as soon as possible? Thank you very much.
Answer: There is no such law. You need to fix your invoices so that they clearly state that interest is charged if the payment is not made. We represent a number of contractors and subs and prepare Construction Contracts. If you need your invoice and proposal rewritten so that you can charge interest, collect attorney's fees in the event of a dispute and protect yourself from unfounded claims, we can help draft proposal and invoice forms. Let us know if we can help.
Ask An Attorney
Do you have legal questions?
Use our form to send your question to us and our lawyers will post the answers on our website.